3dscapture.com

Support Forum
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:22 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:04 pm
Posts: 4
I first would like to say thanks to Loopy and his supporters for all the time they gave to help issues that other techs have either created or choose to ignore their customers. I for one wish I knew of Loopys work before I had made the decision on purchasing the capture device for my New 3ds XL. Unfortunately I made the worst decision in my life by purchasing this from katsukity... before anyone slams me for posting for help here I do want to say I DID try and contact Katsukity for help but they have no clue on how to solve the problem. I have read a lot of the support here and have been admired by the amount of help you folks are willing to give. I am just really desperate on getting my 3ds to connect to my labtop.... so please.. I beg of you... help me... I will try anything at this point lol.

Before I downloaded windows 10 on my computer a few months ago, I had windows 7 that came with the labtop. When I had windows 7 I had made the purchase to get the capture device for my 3ds. After waiting for 2 months to receive my 3ds back, I eagerly installed all the drivers and applications onto my labtop. I was pleased to know i didn't get scammed or lose my 3ds by sending it off. It worked PERFECTLY fine with the application and I played my 3ds with the direct connection to the TV so the wife can watch (which was our agreement on getting the capture device).

About 2 months ago I jumped on the free Windows 10 download bandwagon and didn't try using my capture device because i figured everything was good... that turned out to be a big mistake. Not only is my 3ds not recognized via usb connection, but the driver isn't there anymore! Since my 3ds wasn't at all being recognized, I felt like I had to install the driver to get it to work... but it claims it's installed onto my pc but it isn't showing up on my device manager... I even disabled the driver authentication before installing it (I uninstalled all of it before doing it) and it is still not appearing on the device manager....

So now I am clueless on what I can do next. I felt like I have tried every step of advice given to me, even from tech support via katsukity. Though I am starting to get the feeling it is the USB port... even though the driver isn't appearing on the device manager :-/. Is the 3ds suppose to show some form of connection on the Laptop even if the driver isn't connected? Or does the driver need to be installed for that to work? Do I need to get anything repaired and if so what do i need to do to make this happen? After knowing Loopys work, I would rather invest in his ablities to help, then the support from my original consumer... :?: :?: :?:

_________________
The retro life is best life.


Last edited by Jonix33 on Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:42 am
Posts: 126
Location: Los Angeles, California
Well, good luck with that. I ended up getting a whole new Windows 7 laptop to just to use my Katsukity Vita capture card again.

Actually, I got two laptops since the first cheaper one wasn't powerful enough to run the Katsukity viewing software at a smooth enough frame rate. All in all, to get the laptop that had everything I wanted (Windows 7 64 bit, Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHZ, and HDMI), that was like another $300. It's a beast, but goddamn. There aren't enough loopys in the world, that's for sure...


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:04 pm
Posts: 4
triple_lei wrote:
Well, good luck with that. I ended up getting a whole new Windows 7 laptop to just to use my Katsukity Vita capture card again.

Actually, I got two laptops since the first cheaper one wasn't powerful enough to run the Katsukity viewing software at a smooth enough frame rate. All in all, to get the laptop that had everything I wanted (Windows 7 64
bit, Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHZ, and HDMI), that was like another $300. It's a beast, but goddamn. There aren't enough loopys in the world, that's for sure...



I am hoping it doesn't come to that. I tried plugging my 3ds into a different labtop with windows 7 and it didn't register the device either (I didn't download the software on the other labtop though).

If loopy is able to fix it, I am more then willing to pay for it. I have full trust in his abilities. I just feel like it's more of a driver issue then it is a USB port issue but I am not an expert with these things :cry:

_________________
The retro life is best life.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:59 pm
Posts: 148
Location: Germany
From what you are saying, seems the USB port is not having a proper connection anymore.
With Windows all devices always are displayed at the device manager, even if you do not have the propper drivers for it.
The may be shown as unknown device or at an compatible class. But they are always there!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:04 pm
Posts: 4
Tecd0c wrote:
From what you are saying, seems the USB port is not having a proper connection anymore.
With Windows all devices always are displayed at the device manager, even if you do not have the propper drivers for it.
The may be shown as unknown device or at an compatible class. But they are always there!


Should I assume it's the USB port then? I have definitely exausted all my attempts on downloading the driver but if the USB port is fixed, it should show a sign of connection then correct?

_________________
The retro life is best life.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:59 pm
Posts: 148
Location: Germany
You should have a sound from Windows as soon you plug it in and out.
Also at the device manager there should be a device, you can enable at the dropdown menu the "Show all devices" tab.
If you can not see it, and if you tried to plug it into any other Computer and it does not ask you for drivers or does not say a certain device was found then it must be the USB Port on the Capture Card.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:04 pm
Posts: 4
Tecd0c wrote:
You should have a sound from Windows as soon you plug it in and out.
Also at the device manager there should be a device, you can enable at the dropdown menu the "Show all devices" tab.
If you can not see it, and if you tried to plug it into any other Computer and it does not ask you for drivers or does not say a certain device was found then it must be the USB Port on the Capture Card.


Perfect! Thank you so much for your help. That's all I needed to know :-)

_________________
The retro life is best life.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 5:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:42 am
Posts: 126
Location: Los Angeles, California
Anybody else get a pretty big Windows 10 update today?

I thought I'd try my Katsukity-modded Vita and it works with my Windows 10 laptop again! :mrgreen:

EDIT: Well, I just updated my desktop PC with the newest Windows 10 update and it still doesn't work there... so I dunno.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group Color scheme by ColorizeIt!